Learn More

Interested in learning more about human rights and humanitarian studies? Take some time to explore these links:

What are human rights and humanitarian studies?

Human Rights AboutGenerally speaking, “human rights” refer to the rights that are
spelled out in the 1948 Universal Declaration of Human Rights,
as well as associated international treaties and covenants.
According to the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights,
"Human rights are rights inherent to all human beings, whatever our
nationality, place of residence, sex, national or ethnic origin, colour,
religion, language, or any other status. We are all equally entitled to
our human rights without discrimination. These rights are all interrelated,
interdependent and indivisible.

Victims of Pakistan's floods are pictured with boxes of rations distributed by the UN World Food Programme (WFP), including containers of vegetable oil, at a tent camp in Naseerabad, Balochistan Province. Since mid-August 2010 WFP has distributed some 7,500 tons of food to Balochistan's worst affected districts. (United Nations Photo)

Universal human rights are often expressed and guaranteed by law, in the
forms of treaties, customary international law , general principles and other sources of international law. International human rights law lays down obligations of Governments to act in certain ways or to refrain from certain
acts, in order to promote and protect human rights and fundamental
freedoms of individuals or groups.

Humanitarian studies, on the other hand, stem from international humanitarian law which addresses acceptable practices and actions during complex emergencies, particularly in armed conflict. Humanitarian studies thus involve issues dealing with the delivery of aid and assisting the victims
of war, extreme poverty and natural disaster. To learn more, visit:

Saint Louis Organizations

Children and Youth Services
These organizations focus on families and children, offering services like counseling for children and parents, foster care placement and free health care.
Annie Malone Children & Family Service Center: http://www.anniemalone.com/
Big Brothers Big Sisters of Eastern Missouri: http://www.bbbsemo.org
BWorks: http://bworks.org/
Children's Foundation of Mid-America, Inc.: http://www.care4kids.org
Children's Home Society of Missouri: http://www.chsmo.org/
Discovering Options: http://www.discoveringoptions.org/
Epworth Children and Family Services: http://www.epworth.org/
Family Resource Center: http://frcmo.org/
Friends CAP: http://friendscap.org/
Kingdom House: http://www.kingdomhouse.org/
Mathews-Dickey Boys & Girls Clubs: http://www.mathews-dickey.com/
Neighborhood Houses: http://www.neighborhoodhouses.org/
University City Children's Center: http://www.uccc.org/
UrbanFUTURE: http://www.urbanfuturestl.org/


Community
These organizations work with community members to provide community resources and support services in a variety of areas, including education, housing and employment, to help them overcome social and economic difficulties.
100 Black Men: http://www.100bmstl.org/
Ark of Safety Center, Inc.: http://www.arkofsafetycenter.com/
Better Family Life: http://www.betterfamilylife.org/
Beyond Housing: http://www.beyondhousing.org/
Catholic Charities – Archdiocese of St. Louis: http://www.ccstl.org/
Employment Connection: http://www.employmentstl.org/
George Washington “Carver House”: http://www.carverhouse.org
Grace Hill: http://www.gracehill.org/
Hands On Disaster Response: http://www.hodr.org/
International Institute of St. Louis: http://www.iistl.org/
Provident: http://www.lifecrisis.org/
Redevelopment Opportunities for Women: http://www.row-stl.org/
The Salvation Army of St. Louis Adult Rehabilitation Center (ARC): http://www.stlsalvationarmyarc.org/


Disabled Persons
Some non-profit organizations help persons with mental, developmental, intellectual and physical disabilities. They offer life skills training, community living services, recreational activities and more for handicapped children and adults.
Autism Society of America – Gateway Chapter: http://www.autism-society.org/
Catch a Falling Star: http://www.catchafallingstar.org/
Delta Gamma Center for Children with Visual Impairments: http://www.dgckids.org/
Independence Center: http://www.independencecenter.org/
KEEN (Kids Enjoy Exercise Now) St. Louis: http://www.keenstlouis.org/
Special Olympics Missouri: http://www.somo.org/
SSM Rehabilitation Hospital: http://www.ssm-select.com/
St. Louis Arc (Association for Retarded Citizens): http://www.slarc.org/
St. Louis Society for the Blind and Visually Impaired: http://www.slsbvi.org/
UCP Easter Seals Heartland: http://ucpesh.easterseals.com/


Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault
These groups tend to provide emergency assistance to victims of domestic violence and sexual assault. Typical services include 24-hour telephone help lines, walk-in clinics and safe houses. Other groups advocate for the rights of victims of sexual assault.
ALIVE St. Louis: http://www.alivestl.org/
Covenant House of Missouri: http://www.covenanthousemo.org/
Family Resource Center: http://frcmo.org/
Kingdom House: http://www.kingdomhouse.org/
Missouri Coalition Against Domestic & Sexual Violence: http://www.mocadsv.org/
RAVEN (Rape and Violence End Now): http://www.ravenstl.org/
Safe Connections: http://www.safeconnections.org/
St. Louis Crisis Nursery: http://www.crisisnurserykids.com/
St. Louis County Domestic and Family Violence Council: http://www.stlouiscodvcouncil.com/
Saint Martha's Hall: http://www.saintmarthas.org/
The Women's Safe House: http://twsh.org


Education
Educational non-profit groups often tutor children, teach adults to read and write and teach English as a second language to immigrants.
Grace Hill: http://www.gracehill.org/
International Institute of St. Louis: http://www.iistl.org/volunteers2.html
Luxor Learning: http://www.luxorlearning.com/
MATHCOUNTS: http://mathcounts.org/
Our Education: http://www.oured.org/
Parkway Area Adult Education and Literacy: http://www.pkwy.k12.mo.us/adulted/index.cfm
Reach One Teach One: http://www.reachoneteachone.com/
Teach for America: http://www.teachforamerica.org


Elder Care
Elder care volunteer opportunities include helping senior citizens perform everyday tasks, like driving to the doctor or fixing dinner. Some non-profits in this category help take care of elderly people with long-term illnesses like Alzheimer's disease.
Alzheimer's Association St. Louis: http://www.alz.org/stl/
American Association of Retired Persons (AARP): http://www.aarp.org
Cardinal Ritter Senior Services: http://cardinalritterseniorservices.org/
Meals on Wheels of St. Louis: http://www.mealcall.org/meals-on-wheels/mo/saint-louis.htm
South Grand Senior Ministry: http://www.saintstephenstl.org/orgs/sgsm.shtml
St. Louis Area Agency on Aging: http://stlouis-mo.gov/government/departments/human-services/aging-services/
The Singer Institute: http://singerinstitute.org/


Environment
This category includes non-profits focused on environmental issues and the outdoors.
EarthShare Missouri: http://www.earthsharemo.org/
Forest ReLeaf: http://www.moreleaf.org/
Missouri Coalition for the Environment: http://www.moenviron.org
Missouri Sierra Club: http://missouri.sierraclub.org
St. Louis Audubon Society: http://www.stlouisaudubon.org/
The Green Center: http://www.thegreencenter.org/
The Open Space Council: http://www.openspacestl.org/


Ex-Offender Re-entry
These non-profit organizations help ex-felons transition from prison into society by offering structured housing, skills training, employment assistance, and educational opportunities.
Ark of Safety Center, Inc.: http://www.arkofsafetycenter.com/
Center for Women in Transition: http://cwitstl.org/
Employment Connection: http://www.employmentstl.org/
Project COPE: http://www.projcope.org/


Health
Health-based non-profit organizations often provide medical care to those who cannot otherwise afford it. Others help terminally ill patients and their families cope financially and emotionally with their illnesses. Organizations that help individuals with drug and alcohol addictions are also included in this list.
American Liver Foundation – Missouri: www.liverfoundation.org/chapters/missouri/
American Lung Association of St. Louis: http://www.lungusa.org/associations/charters/plains-gulf/
AmHeart Hospice: http://www.amhearthospice.com/
Doorways: http://www.doorwayshousing.org/
Epilepsy Foundation of the St. Louis Region: http://www.epilepsyfoundation.org/stlouis/
Healing the Children Missouri: http://www.htcmo.org/
Mental Health America of Eastern Missouri: http://www.mhaem.org/
National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) of St. Louis: http://www.nami.org/
MSTemplate.cfm?MicrositeID=212

National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse (NCADA) – St. Louis: http://www.ncada-stl.org/
Planned Parenthood of the St. Louis Region: http://www.plannedparenthood.org/stlouis/
Ronald McDonald House Charities of Metro St. Louis: http://www.rmhcstl.com/
St. Louis Effort for Aids (EFA): http://www.stlefa.org/
United Cerebral Palsy of Greater St. Louis: http://www.ucp.org/ucp_local.cfm/95


Homelessness
Most non-profit organizations that combat homelessness operate shelters where people sleep and eat. Sometimes, they also help the homeless find jobs and low-rent homes and offer financial assistance.
Ark of Safety Center, Inc.: http://www.arkofsafetycenter.com/
Epworth – Youth Emergency Service (YES): http://www.epworth.org/programs/youth-emergency-service.php
Gateway Homeless Services: http://www.gatewayhomeless.org/
Grace Hill Family Center: http://www.gracehill.org/content/Homeless-Services.php
Peter & Paul Community Services: http://www.ppcsinc.org/
St. Patrick Center: http://www.stpatrickcenter.org/


Hunger
These organizations donate food to hungry individuals and families.
Campus Kitchen: http://campuskitchens.org/schools/slu/
Centenary Church: The Bridge: http://www.centenarystl.org/
Food Outreach: http://www.foodoutreach.org/
Live Feed: http://www.livefeed.org/
Operation Food Search: http://www.ofsearch.org/
St. Louis Area Foodbank: http://www.stlfoodbank.org/


International
This category includes organizations with an international focus.
Amnesty International USA: http://www.amnestyusa.org/
Asha for Education: http://www.ashanet.org/stlouis/


Legal Assistance
Legal advocacy non-profits offer low-cost legal services to low-income residents. They often represent individuals in child custody, divorce and domestic violence cases. Some legal assistance groups specialize in helping children or the elderly.
American Civil Liberties Union of Eastern Missouri: http://www.aclu-em.org/
Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) For Children -- St. Louis County: http://www.casastlcounty.org/
Crime Victim Advocacy Center: http://supportvictims.org/
Legal Advocates for Abused Women: http://www.laawstl.org/
Legal Services of Eastern Missouri: http://www.lsmo.org/Home/PublicWeb


Poverty
These organizations provide any number of services to the poor, including those relating to health, education, housing and economic development, with the goal of creating healthy lifestyles and prosperous environments.
Dress for Success Midwest: http://www.dressforsuccess.org/
Habitat for Humanity – St. Louis: http://www.habitatstl.org/
Metropolitan Employment and Rehabilitation Services (MERS) / Goodwill: http://www.mersgoodwill.org/
The Salvation Army of St. Louis Adult Rehabilitation Center (ARC): http://www.stlsalvationarmyarc.org/

Umbrella Organizations

Many non-profit organizations oversee a broad range of activities, or give financial assistance to numerous charitable organizations. A non-profit job seeker can start at the umbrella organization and read about its non-profit members. Better yet, some non-profit umbrella organizations maintain their own job databases.
American Red Cross – St. Louis Chapter: http://www.redcrossstl.org/
AmeriCorps: http://www.americorps.gov
United Way of Greater St. Louis: http://www.stl.unitedway.org/
YMCA of Greater St. Louis: http://www.ymcastlouis.org
YWCA of Metro St. Louis: http://www.ywca.org/site/pp.asp?c=8eIFLNMzC&b=62563

Non-Profit Employment Listings

Many of Missouri's non-profit opportunities are listed in national or statewide databases of volunteer positions. The following websites list numerous non-profit organizations in St. Louis.
Serve.gov: http://www.serve.gov/
VolunteerMatch: http://www.volunteermatch.org
Volunteer Solutions: http://volunteer.truist.com/

Organizations

There are countless non-governmental organizations (NGOs) dedicated to human rights and humanitarian work. An excellent resource for locating these organizations – along with volunteer opportunities, internships, and job openings – is the Web site www.idealist.org. A few NGOs to get you started include:

Graduate Study

People working in the fields of human rights and humanitarianism come from diverse backgrounds. Some earned bachelor's degrees in human rights, international relations, or political science before entering graduate school or law school; others studied other subjects but were inspired to pursue a career in rights and/or humanitarian work. Many returned Peace Corps volunteers (www.peacecorps.gov), for example, return home and devote themselves to work with NGOs, government agencies, the United Nations, or human rights offices within transnational corporations. If you are considering graduate studies related to human rights and humanitarian studies, here are a few places to explore:

** Special thanks to Webster University Career Services for assistance in compiling this list.