Faculty Activities and Accomplishments

Teaching Awards and Honors:

  • Several faculty in the BSS department (e.g., Conway-Long, Hulsizer, Moore, Woolf) have been awarded the William T. Kemper Award for Excellence in Teaching at Webster University.
  • BSS faculty have been honored with the Emerson Electric Excellence in Teaching Award.
  • Michael Hulsizer and Linda Woolf were awarded theLinda Woolf Society for the Teaching of Psychology (APA Division Two) Poster Award several times for incorporating new or innovative content into psychology) at the National Institute for the Teaching of Psychology.
  • Michael Hulsizer was awarded the Frank Costin Memorial Poster Award (for promoting quality teaching methods) at the National Institute for the Teaching of Psychology.
  • Gary Kannenberg is the current coordinator for the General Education program at Webster University.
  • Monica Moore has presented several Continuing Education workshops to assist psychologists maintain licensure, achieve lifelong learning, and encourage professional development.
  • Linda Woolf was honored with the Early Career Award for Teaching, Society for the Teaching of Psychology, Division Two, American Psychological Association.
  • Linda Woolf, Tracey McCarthy, and Michael Hulsizer have been awarded several Society for the Teaching of Psychology (APA Division Two) Office of Teaching Resources in Psychology Instructional Research Awards.

Awards & Honors Related to Research and Professional Scholarship:

  • Several faculty in the BSS department (e.g., Grenwald, Hulsizer, Kohl, Moore, Tierney, Woolf) have been awarded a Webster University Faculty Research Grant.
  • Don Conway Long was awarded a Fulbright Research Award in Morocco.
  • Don Conway-Long has organized several conferences on Masculinities.
  • Seena Kohl has worked closely with the Missouri Historical Society and the Montana Historical Society to produce several reports and publications.
  • Dani MacCartney has served on Editorial Advisory Board for the Journal of Social Problems.
  • Dani MacCartney was awarded a University of California Institute for Labor and Employment Fellowship
  • Dani MacCartney was awarded a University of California Regents Predissertation Fellowship.
  • Monica Moore has given several keynote addresses and invited talks related to her research.
  • Gerry Tierney has collected life-histories and conducted cross cultural research in areas as diverse as Alaska, Japan, and across Europe. She has been an invited speaker on numerous occasions to discuss this work.
  • Linda Woolf was one of the Primary Drafters: 2006 American Psychological Association Resolution Against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman, or Degrading Treatment or Punishment.

Leadership & Consulting Roles in Professional & Local Organizations:

  • Don Conway-Long was a co-founder of RAVEN (Rape and Violence End Now), a counseling service for men who batter.
  • Don Conway-Long has spoken about Islam at the McConnell Air Force Base Speaker Series.
  • Michael Hulsizer was the Program Chair for the Society for the Study of Peace, Conflict, and Violence: Peace Psychology (Division 48) at the 114th Annual Meeting of the American Psychological Association.
  • Gary Kannenberg Program was the Director of the Boeing-St. Louis/Webster University Partnership and developed several training programs (e.g., diversity training).
  • Gary Kannenberg was a consultant to Drug and Alcohol Rehabilitation and Treatment Centers (DART) in St. Louis, Missouri.
  • Gary Kannenberg was a consultant to Missions of Mercy, Inc., and Places for People, St. Louis, Missouri.
  • Gerry Tierney is a Fellow in the Society for Applied Anthropology.
  • Gerry Tierney was an AIDS Prevention Coordinator for the Alaska Native Health Board, Anchorage, Alaska.
  • Linda Woolf was President of the Society for the Study of Peace, Conflict, and Violence: Peace Psychology (Division 48, American Psychological Association).
  • Linda Woolf was Secretary for the Society for the Teaching of Psychology (Division 2, American Psychological Association)
  • Linda Woolf is a Fellow in APA Division 2 (Society for the Teaching of Psychology) and Division 48 (Society for the Study of Peace, Conflict, and Violence: Peace Psychology).

University Committee Activities:

  • Several BSS faculty have served as members of a number of interdisciplinary committees including Environmental Studies (e.g., Conway-Long, Tierney), Center for Ethics (e.g., Hulsizer), International Studies (e.g., Conway-Long, Grenwald), International Human Rights (e.g., Hulsizer, Woolf), Multicultural Studies (e.g., Hulsizer, MacCartney, McCarthy, Moore, Tierney), & Women's Studies (e.g., Conway-Long, Kohl, Moore, MacCartney, Tierney, Woolf). Don Conway Long (Environmental Studies), Seena Kohl (Women's Studies), Dani MacCartney (Women's Studies), and Monica Moore (Women's Studies) have also served as chair.
  • Numerous BSS faculty have served on important faculty committees such as the Accessibility Committee (e.g., Tierney), Civil Rights Compliance Committee (e.g., Woolf), Committee to Review Faculty (e.g., Tierney, Woolf), Curriculum Committee (e.g., Kannenberg, McCarthy, Moore, Tierney), Graduate Council (Gary Kannenberg), Honors Board (e.g., Tierney), Salary and Fringe Benefits (e.g., Hulsizer, Kannenberg), & numerous other ad hoc committees.
  • Michael Hulsizer (Salary and Fringe Benefits), Gary Kannenberg (Salary and Fringe Benefits), Tracey McCarthy (Curriculum Committee), Gerry Tierney (Accessibility Committee), and Linda Woolf (Committee to Review Faculty) have served as committee chairperson.
  • The BSS department has also been well represented on the Faculty Senate (e.g., Hulsizer, Kohl, Moore, Tierney, Woolf). Seena Kohl has also served as President of the Faculty. Michael Hulsizer has served as Vice President.
  • Faculty in the BSS department have taken on additional responsibilities in the University. For example, Gary Kannenberg has served as General Education Program Director. Gloria Grenwald has been integral in the creation and implementation of several Title VI grants awarded to the University.
  • Gloria Grenwald, Michael Hulsizer, Monica Moore, and Linda Woolf served on the Institutional Review Board and helped create the current IRB regulations. Linda Woolf was a founding member of the Center for the Study of the Holocaust, Genocide, and Human Rights.