Student Advertising Team Among Top Eight Finalists at National Competition | Webster University

Student Advertising Team Among Top Eight Finalists at National Competition

ST. LOUIS (JUNE 7, 2016) –  The Webster University School of Communications advertising competition team have demonstrated they are one of the best in the nation. They traveled to Anaheim, Calif. June 4-6 to compete in the final round of the National Student Advertising Competition (NSAC). They were among eight teams from across the United States to present their advertising campaigns at nationals.

ad team in front of competition banner“The students [left] the conference with tremendous industry experience and networking contacts, as well as excitement and passion for their future careers,” said Julie Clark, one of the faculty advisors to the team.

“It was tremendously exciting to be among the top eight schools in the country and listen to industry professionals compliment our students’ hard work on their campaign for Snapple®,” Clark continued.

Although the School of Communications team did not place in the top three schools, congratulations are in order for the team and their faculty for having made it so far in the competition.

Dean of the School of Communications Eric Rothenbuhler said in a note, “Top eight in the country is a very, very fine result, and the experience is as important as the quality of the work. These students and their teachers did a fabulous job.”

Webster University School of Communications students have a long history of doing well in both the regional and national NSAC competitions. School advertising competition teams, with the support of advertising faculty, have regularly placed in the top three in the regionals; this year they placed first. The 2006 team placed second in the national competition.

The 2016 School of Communications advertising competition team members included Courtney Baker, Elizabeth Brown, Adrianna Carochi, Jack Eschmann, Jessica Haar, Megan Keegan, Jenna Keith, Evan Marsters, Melissa Mercille, Ashley Mess, Patrick Montes de Oca, Benjamin Myers, Ricardo Ortiz Aguilar, Tamarah Patterson, Harsha Paul, Ashley Prichard, and Zachary Selby.

Advertising and marketing communications faculty for the course and advisors to the team were Webster alumni Julie Clark, creative director at Momentum Worldwide, and Michael Whitmer, executive director of communications and development for Farm Journal Foundation. Communications faculty members Kristen DiFate, Sally Howald and Terry Sullivan also provided support.

The winners of the 2016 National Student Advertising Competition included the University of Virginia in first place, West Texas A&M in second place, and Ringling College of Art and Design in third place.