webster-dominates-at-awards-ceremony | Webster University

Webster Dominates at Awards Ceremony

Students bring home nearly half of scholarships awarded

ST. LOUIS (JULY 14, 2016) – Of the seventeen scholarships awarded at the recent St. Louis Press Club and Journalism Foundation annual scholarship luncheon, seven went to current or soon-to-be Webster University students. The scholarship winners and their awards include:

  • Jessica Karins - $1,000 West End Word/Webster University Journalism scholarship
  • Allison Klinghammer - $1,000 Press Club Martin Quigley Media scholarship
  • Hannah McFarland - $1,000 Press Club Summer Media Internship Journalism scholarship
  • Brian Ruth - $1,500 FleishmanHillard Journalism scholarship
  • Lauren Schertz - $1,000 Webster-Kirkwood Times/Webster University Journalism scholarship
  • Janet Tran - $1,000 Press Club Sky’s the Limit scholarship

Asia Myles also won a scholarship. She will attend Webster University (WU) as a graduate student beginning in August 2016. She will study new media production.

Scholarship winners at 2016 Press Club luncheonKarins will work as news editor for the award-winning student newspaper, The Journal, at WU this fall. She is a senior majoring in journalism. Klinghammer, also a senior, is studying media communications and magazine production.

McFarland works part-time in the School of Communications and has an internship in special events at the Missouri Botanical Garden this summer. She is a senior studying media communications. In addition, she has a minor in art.

Starting in the fall, Brian Ruth will be the copy editor and circulation manager for The Journal. Over the summer, he has been an intern at the Webster-Kirkwood Times. A very enthusiastic Ruth is looking forward to his new responsibilities and to returning to WU for his senior year as a journalism major.

Schertz is a junior majoring in public relations, and Tran will be a first-time freshman attending Webster University beginning the fall semester.

Don Corrigan, a professor of journalism in the WU School of Communications and editor of the Webster-Kirkwood Times, and Eric Rothenbuhler, dean of the School, attended the luncheon. It was held at the International Photography Hall of Fame and featured a presentation by Lynden Steele, assistant managing editor of photography for the St. Louis Post-Dispatch.

Students from the University of Missouri School of Journalism at Columbia, University of Missouri-St. Louis, Southeast Missouri State University, and Missouri Baptist University also won scholarships.

Pictured above from left: Eric Rothenbuhler, Asia Myles, Janet Tran, Don Corrigan, Jessica Karins, Brian Ruth, Allison Klinghammer and Hannah McFarland.

About the School of Communications
The School of Communications at Webster University prepares students to excel as skilled professionals in the global field of communications. We provide theory and practice in media courses framed within a liberal arts-based curriculum, augmented by personalized mentorship, and professional development opportunities. Sixteen distinct majors are available at the undergraduate level as well as six master’s degrees in diverse fields of communications. We offer BA and MA programs on the Webster campuses in Geneva, Vienna, Leiden, Thailand, and Ghana, as well as in Saint Louis and online.

About Webster University
With its home campus in St. Louis, Missouri, USA, Webster University (www.webster.edu) comprises an action-oriented global network of faculty, staff, students and alumni who forge powerful bonds with each other and with their communities around the globe. Founded in 1915, Webster is a private non-profit university with more than 17,000 students studying at campus locations in North America, Europe, Asia and Africa and in a robust learning environment online. The university is committed to delivering high-quality learning experiences that transform students for global citizenship and individual excellence.