Journal Students Win Mark of Excellence Awards | Webster University

Journal Students Win Mark of Excellence Awards

ST. LOUIS (April 16, 2018) – Five Webster Journal staff members won Mark of Excellence Awards at the Region 7 Conference of the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ). Iowa State University in Ames, Ia. hosted this year’s conference, which was held April 14.

Four journalism students holding Mark of Excellence Award certificatesWebster Journal staff members won first-place awards in general news reporting, in-depth reporting, and featuring writing. One staff member was also a finalist in the feature writing category.

Eric Rothenbuthler, dean of the School of Communications, sent congratulations to the students and their faculty. Associate Dean Elza Ibroscheva also sent her congratulations and called the awards "another great achievement for our journalism students."

Here is a list of the award-winning staff members, the categories in which they won awards, and links to their award-winning work:

First-Place Winners

General News Reporting - Haley Walter
Students ‘shame’ St. Louis Police Department after Stockley verdict

In-Depth Reporting - Sara Bannoura, Hanna Holthaus, and Alexa Kannenberg
The heroic life and traumatic death of Tom Palozola

Feature Writing - Andrew McMunn
Drepung Gomang Monastery brings traditional mandala art to Webster University

Feature Writing - Andrew McMunn
Mind’s Eye Radio brings beepball to Webster University

Each winner and finalist received an award certificate acknowledging their work as the best in college journalism in their region. Pictured in the photograph above, from left to right, holding their certificates are Sara Bannoura, Hanna Holthaus, Andrew McMunn, and Haley Walter. Alexa Kannenburg is not pictured.

Next, the first-place winners will compete at the national level among other regional Mark of Excellence winners from a total of 12 SPJ regions. The national conference will be held in Baltimore in September 2018.

Schools in Iowa, Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska compete in Region 7. Schools are further divided by large and small divisions based on total enrollment. Webster University falls in the small school division based on total student enrollment of fewer than 10,000 students.

Schools in the small division include Drake University and Lindenwood University, among others. Large division schools have enrollments of 10,000 students or more. Schools in the large division include University of Missouri, Kansas State University,  and Iowa State University, among others.

Winning the Mark of Excellence Awards awards closely follows the winning of the Best in State Award at the 2017-2018 Missouri College Media Association (MCMA) conference the weekend of April 7. At that conference, The Journal staff  won a total of 28 awards.

Photograph used courtesy of Haley Walter.

About the School of Communications
The School of Communications at Webster University prepares students to excel as skilled professionals in the global field of communications. We provide theory and practice in media courses framed within a liberal arts-based curriculum, augmented by personalized mentorship, and professional development opportunities. Sixteen distinct majors are available at the undergraduate level as well as six master’s degrees in diverse fields of communications. We offer BA and MA programs on the Webster campuses in Geneva, Vienna, Leiden, Thailand, and Ghana, as well as in Saint Louis and online.

About Webster University
With its home campus in St. Louis, Missouri, USA, Webster University ( comprises an action-oriented global network of faculty, staff, students and alumni who forge powerful bonds with each other and with their communities around the globe. Founded in 1915, Webster is a private non-profit university with more than 17,000 students studying at campus locations in North America, Europe, Asia and Africa and in a robust learning environment online. The university is committed to delivering high-quality learning experiences that transform students for global citizenship and individual excellence.