School of Communications Scholarships

There are several scholarships available to incoming and current students who select a major in the School of Communications, such as:

Helen Cleary Hufker Memorial Scholarship

To support women studying audio production. This is an endowed scholarship. More details will follow.

Bette Jane Wolff Schreiber Memorial Scholarship Fund

To benefit a freshman or undergraduate transfer student enrolled full-time in the School of Communications at the Webster Groves campus.

The first award will be made to a student in the 2015-2016 academic year. More details will follow.

Michael B. Bingman Memorial Endowed Scholarship

This endowed scholarship fund was established in 1998 when the School of Communications offered only a Master of Arts in Media Communications. Students currently pursuing any of our five graduate degree programs are eligible and encouraged to apply. This award is intended to be in addition to other financial assistance to which recipients are entitled.

The amounts will vary from year to year as will the number of awards. For the 2014-2015 academic year, two students were awarded scholarships of $1,900.00 based on merit and on demonstrated financial need.

Two awards of $4200.00 each
Deadline: March 30, 2015

Recipients for 2014-2015 - Stacy Shapiro and Shaun Braswell



Nancy Anne Underwood Photography Scholarship

Offered to full-time Webster students majoring in photography in the School of Communications. Applicants must be of junior or senior status during the year of receipt and possess a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.2 or higher. Applicants must have a free application for federal financial aid (FAFSA) on file in Webster's financial aid office.

One award of $3,200.00
Deadline: March 30, 2015

Recipient for 2014-2015 - Izaiah Johnson


James H. Wilson II Endowed Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship is open to any student enrolled in the School of Communications, full- or part-time. Applicants must be sophomore, junior, or senior status during year of receipt. Priority consideration is given to students who have lived in the St. Louis area for at least four years and who have demonstrated financial need.

One award of $2,900.00 
Deadline: March 30, 2015

Recipient for 2014-2015 - Michael Grosch


Elva Norman Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship was established to financially assist women pursuing a degree in communications, either full or part time. Applicants must be non-traditional female students aged 25 and above who have achieved junior or senior status the year of receipt.

One award for $1,100.00
Deadline: March 30, 2015

Recipient for 2014-2015 - Teri Bennett


The Press Club of Metropolitan St. Louis and the Journalism Foundation of Metropolitan St. Louis

The Press Club of Metropolitan St. Louis and the Journalism Foundation award and fund a variety of scholarships for communication students. The Press Club of Metropolitan St. Louis scholarship recipients are chosen on the basis of aptitude and interest in pursuing a career in communication.  Academic achievement and financial need are also important factors in the final selection process. Please refer to application for additional eligibility requirements. Scholarships will be awarded in the summer of 2015.

The Press Club of Metropolitan St. Louis and the Journalism Foundation of Metropolitan St. Louis scholarships are not awarded by Webster University or by the School of Communications.

Multiple awards for varying amounts
Deadline: May 1, 2015 - Deadline has been extended


Read Webster Today posts about 2013 and 2014 scholarship recipients:
Press Club Awards Scholarships to Webster to Webster Communication Students
Six Webster Students Receive Press Club Scholarships
Press Club Scholarships Awarded to SOC Students

For questions or applications for any of the scholarships, please contact:

Susan Napoleon
Sverdrup Building, Room 230
Office phone 314-246-7154

Learn more about other scholarships available to students of Webster University.