90th Anniversary Celebration | Webster University

90th Anniversary Celebration


Thank you to all who attended the Community Music School's 90th Anniversary Celebration on March 31, 2016.  It was a celebration of 90 years of outstanding music education and performance.

The afternoon began with a student workshop "Follow Your Dreams and Shoot for the Stars" with Time for Three, followed by a celebratory toast with speeches from Webster University President Dr. Beth Stroble, 90th Anniversary co-chair Jim Krekeler, and Webster Groves Major Gerry Welch.

The main event was a spectacular concert by Time for Three with a special appearance from our Suzuki Ensemble.  The evening concluded with an After Party for donors and sponsors.  Guests were welcomed with trumpet fanfares by CMS trumpet students Liz Szabo and Jason Hart.  Jazz trio students Jack Snelling, piano; Noah Kiernan, bass; and Dominic Anzalone, drum set; entertained the guests at the After Party.  Time for Three double bassist Ranaan Meyer joined the students for a jam session at the party!  It truly was a night to remember!  

Click here to check out some snap shots of the evening.

Watch the special video below celebrating the history, special quotes, and photos of the CMS' 90 year legacy! 

Learn more about the 90 year history of the CMS




With Special Appreciation to our Sonata Sponsor, The O'Brien Family, and our Masterwork Sponsor, Edward Jones 

90th Anniversary Committee 

Linda Lee, Co-Chair
Jim Krekeler, Co-Chair
Shirley A. Bartzen
Cathy Berges
Pam Brown
Kathy Lawton Brown 
Virginia Browning
Jeffrey Carter
Marjorie Courtney
Mary Beth Daniels
Barbara Doyle
Phil Dunlap
Allison Felter
Arden and Harry Fisher
Michael Gandlmayr
Miran Halen
Vicki Hill
Jessica Ingraham
Ron James
Debra and Allen Carl Larson
Karen Luebbert
Kenneth Mares


Harry Moppins
Linda Nevlin
Lori O’Brien
Mary O’Reilly
Laura Rein
Paul Reuter
Mary Riew
Elizabeth Robb
Darlene Roland
Sheila Ryerse
Alice Sargent
Peggy and Alan Schaffer
Laura Shansey
Marjorie J. Smith
Stephen D. Smith
Violet Steinmeyer
Marc Thayer
Paul Thiel
Anne V. von der Heydt
Phyllis and Jim Weidman
Mayor Gerry Welch