Artists.  Performers.  Teachers.


Department of Music faculty exemplify outstanding teaching in classrooms, studios, rehearsal halls, and performance venues.  Faculty work daily with students in classes, rehearsals, seminar, and lessons.  Twelve full-time faculty members are augmented by practicing professionals drawn from the many musical strengths of the Saint Louis area.

Jeffrey Richard Carter, Associate Professor and Chair (Sabbatical, Fall 2013)
Glen Bauer, Associate Professor and Associate Chair (Acting Chair, Fall 2013)
Jean Huber, Department Representative

Kim Portnoy, Associate Professor and Program Chair
Bob Chamberlin, Professor
Kendall Stallings, Professor Emeritus

Ensembles and Conducting
Paul G. Davis, Associate Professor and Instrumental Studies Program Chair
Trent Patterson, Assistant Professor and Choral Studies Program Chair
Martha J. Hart, Assistant Professor, Women's Chorus
Erin Elstner, Percussion Ensemble
Michael Karpowicz, Saxophone Ensemble
Debby Lennon, Vocal Jazz Ensemble
James Martin, Wind Ensemble and Jazz Collective
John McClellan, Guitar Ensemble
Alice Nelson, Opera Studio
Eric Ring, Woodwind Ensemble
Willem von Hombracht, Bass Ensemble

Instrumental Studies
Paul G. Davis, Associate Professor and Instrumental Studies Program Chair

Brass and Percussion
Erin Elstner, percussion
Tricia Jöestlein, horn
James Martin, low brass
Robert Souza, trumpet
Michael Walk, trumpet

Nicolae Bica, violin
Erik Harris, bass
Ken Kulosa, cello
Anna Lackschewitz, viola
John McClellan, guitar
Alison Rolf, violin
Sue Taylor, harp
Susie Thierbach, violin

Jeanine York-Garesche, clarinet
Michael Karpowicz, saxophone
Paula Kasica, flute
Eric Ring, bassoon
Cathy Woelbling-Paul, oboe

Jazz Studies
Paul DeMarinis, Associate Professor and Program Chair
Kim Portnoy, Associate Professor
Steve Schenkel, Professor
Willie Akins, combo
Dave Black, jazz guitar, combo
Christopher Braig, jazz combos
Tom Byrne, jazz guitar, combo
Kevin Gianino, jazz drums
Jay Hungerford, jazz bass
Debby Lennon, jazz voice, Jazz Singers
James Martin, Jazz Collective
Keith Moyer, jazz trumpet
Abbie Steiling, jazz violin
Carolbeth True, jazz piano
Willem von Hombracht, combo, jazz bass
Ben Wheeler, combo

Music Education
Trent Patterson, Assistant Professor and Program Chair
Paul G. Davis, Associate Professor, instrumental methods
Erin Elstner, percussion methods
Tim Garcia, music software
Aurelia Hartenberger, general music methods
Michael Karpowicz, woodwind methods
James Martin, brass methods
Heather McKenzie Patterson, vocal music education practicum
Patti Riggle, general music methods
Susie Thierbach, string methods
Robert Waggoner, jazz methods

Music History and Theory
Glen Bauer, Associate Professor and Music History Program Chair
Bob Chamberlin, Professor and Music Theory Program Chair
Carla Colletti, Assistant Professor and Bachelor of Arts Program Chair
Melissa Bishop, theory
Kathryn Smith Bowers, history
Patricia Eastman, musicianship
Earl Naylor, theory
Heather Nehre, history
Joe Neske, theory
Matthew Pace, theory
Gina Pellegrino, history
Eric Ring, theory and musicianship
John Thomas, theory and musicianship
Becky Thorn, music appreciation
Ben Wheeler, jazz history

Music Industry
Tim Garcia, music software
Phil Dunlap, music business
Sue Greenberg, music marketing
Marc Thayer, music business

Piano and Organ
Daniel Schene, Professor and Program Chair
Mieko Bergt, collaborative piano
Ron Bryant, collaborative piano
Patricia Eastman, piano
Sandra Geary, coach/accompanist
Karl Koesterer, piano
Susan Martin, piano
Nancy Mayo, piano, collaborative piano
Matthew Mazzoni, collaborative piano
Ron McGowan, collaborative piano
Joe Neske, collaborative piano
William (Pat) Partridge, organ
Ruth Price, piano, piano literature
Carol Schmidt, piano
Carolbeth True, piano
Donna Bowen Vince, piano, collaborative piano, piano pedagogy

Vocal Studies
Carole Gaspar, Professor and Program Chair
Jeffrey Richard Carter, Associate Professor
Martha J. Hart, Assistant Professor
Robert Allyon, vocal coach, vocal literature, diction
Rosemarie Cereghino, voice
Eric Dalbey, voice
Jamie Haughey, voice
Debby Lennon, voice
Alice Montgomery, vocal pedagogy
Alice Nelson, opera, vocal coach
Heather McKenzie Patterson, voice
Dee Pavelka, voice
Amanda Taylor, voice

Kathryn Smith Bowers, Emerita Director of Choral Activities
Kendall Stallings, Emeritus Professor
Allen Carl Larson, Emeritus Conductor of the Webster University Symphony Orchestra 

Christine Brewer, Visiting Professor of Voice