“The Music Of …”A Concert by the Wind Ensemble- 11/26/12 | Webster University

“The Music Of …”A Concert by the Wind Ensemble- 11/26/12

The Webster University Wind Ensemble, directed by James A. Martin, will perform a concert of music that ranges from two transcriptions of pieces by Beethoven and Bach to three compositions written in the twentieth-century.  Percy Grainger recomposes J.S. Bach's ‘Sheep May Safely Graze' from Cantata BWV 208 and two original works: Hartley Sinfonia No. 4 and Weill's Suite from The Threepenny Opera conclude the concert. The program:

Ludwig van Beethoven, Marcia alla Turca, arr. by Robert Garofalo

J. S. Bach/transcribed by Gunther Schuller, Prelude and Fugue No. 22                        

Percy Grainger, Blithe Bells

Walter S. Hartley, Sinfonia No. 4                       

Kurt Weill, Little Threepenny Music


Monday, Nov. 26, 2012, 7 p.m.

Community Music School, Webster University campus
535 Garden Ave. Webster Groves

$3 general public, Free to students with valid I.D. 

More info:
Call the Webster University Fine Arts Hotline at 314-968-7128.