RHA | Webster University

Residential Housing Association

The Residential Housing Association (RHA) is a key student organization on campus, and an integral part of the Housing and Residential Life Office.

 What is RHA?

RHA offers excellent leadership opportunities for all residential students, providing a wide range of residential programming, advising Residential Life on policy, and working to improve the living environment at Webster University. Over the last few years, RHA members have championed initiatives to procure flat screen TVs for the residence halls, to augment the guest policy, and to increase sustainability efforts in housing areas, along with many other items! 

As a member of the National Association of College and University Residence Halls (NACURH), Inc., RHA leaders network with other colleges and universities across the nation to find ways to improve on campus living at Webster through policy recommendations and changes as well as putting on various social and service related events. 

RHA is made up of a five-member Executive Board: President, Vice-President Internal, Director of Finance and Records, Vice-President External (also know as the National Communications Coordinator), and the Director of Communications. Each residence hall wing/floor and apartment building and Webster ran off-campus apartment complex has representation within the general assembly of RHA. These reps comprise the voting members of RHA; however, meetings are open to all residents.

In addition to programming and working toward student led housing initiatives, RHA takes delegations of students to two leadership development conferences each year.

The MACURH (Midwest Affiliate of College and University Residence Halls) regional conference brings together 600 delegates representing colleges in Missouri, Iowa, Kansas, Nebraska, Minnesota, North and South Dakota, and Manitoba, Canada.

The NACURH national conference in May draws over 2200 student leaders. These conferences provide team building for the delegation and provide great opportunities to develop leadership skills with student leaders from across the nation.

Past accomplishments by RHA over the years include:

  • Welcome Home Week events, featuring welcome mat creation and large scale social programs
  • Annual haunted House event which draws over 100+ attendees 
  • Involvement in planning for the new residence halls and changes to food service
  • An Annual "House Your Ideas" program suggesting new events and implementing policies for Housing and Residential Life. 

Awards and Recognition:

  • MACURH Small School of the Year Award (2002, 2004)
  • MACURH Building Block RHA of the Year Award (2002, 2004, 2015)
  • MACURH Small School Spirit Award (2002, 2004, 2014)
  • Webster University Outstanding Community Service Award (2004, 2005)
  • Webster University Most improved Student Organization Award (2015)