Executive Council | School of Communications | Webster University

Communications: Executive Council

Elza Ibroscheva, associate dean

Elza IbroschevaDr. Elza Ibroscheva joined the School of Communications as associate dean on August 1, 2017. She comes to Webster University from the Department of Mass Communications at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville where she served as professor and department chair.

Her areas of research focus on media developments in Eastern Europe, including media stereotypes, international and political communication, gender representations in the media as well as the role of the media in fueling nationalism.

Ibroscheva has a doctoral degree and master's degree from the College of Mass Communication and Media Arts at Southern Illinois University at Carbondale and a bachelor's degree from American University in Bulgaria.

Contact Information

Office phone  314-246-7920
Email or elzaibroscheva@webster.edu

Michael Zakibe, director of operations 

Michael Zakibe head shotAs the director of operations for the School of Communications, Michael Zakibe is the liaison between the Dean's Office and the faculty, staff, and students of the School of Communications for decisions involving financial policies, budgets, and expenditures.

Zakibe provides monthly departmental budget variance analysis and serves as an advisor in the development of the capital spending and minor equipment budgets for the departments within the School of Communications. He works closely with the department chairs and with the leaders of student clubs and organizations that have budgeted funds.

He also works on special projects for the dean, including his current involvement on the planning committee researching the best way to redesign the Sverdrup Building.

Michael Zakibe is a St. Louis native. He returned from Los Angeles where he spent much of his career working for NBC. His most recent position was director of television operations and production finance for NBC Universal. Away from work, he enjoys photography, writing, and going to the theater. 

Contact Information

Office phone   314-246-7830
Email or  michaelzakibe56@webster.edu

Susan Napoleon, assistant to the dean

Susan Napoleon head shotIn her role as assistant to the dean, Susan Napoleon has wide-ranging responsibilities. She manages strategic initiatives and supports the development of relationships with alumni and business professionals. She handles projects as diverse as event planning, space usage, faculty contracts, and office moves. Napoleon is the liaison between Dean Rothenbuhler and other people and departments within the university. She is an invaluable resource for the faculty, staff and students of the School of Communications. She was the recipient of the 2013 Staff Member of the Year Award.

Napoleon has a daughter, who recently graduated from Webster University with an MA in international relations, and two married sons with growing families.

Contact Information

Office phone   314-246-7154
Email or susannapoleon19@webster.edu

Aaron AuBuchon, chair, Department of Electronic and Photographic Media

Aaron AuBuchonAaron AuBuchon is an associate professor in the Department of Electronic and Photographic Media. As chair of the Department of Electronic and Photographic Media, he oversees programs ranging from film, television, and video production to photography. With popular majors such as animation and games and game design, this is the fastest-growing department in the School. It is comprised of a master's degree, two graduate certificates, six bachelor's degrees, five minors, and eight undergraduate certificates.

AuBuchon received the Kemper Award for Excellence in Teaching in 2013.

Contact Information

Cell phone   314-541-6330
Email or aubucaar@webster.edu

Gary Ford, chair, Department of Communications and Journalism

Gary Ford head shotGary Ford is chair of the Department of Communications and Journalism. It is comprised of five master's degrees, two graduate certificates, nine bachelor's degrees, eight minors, and seven undergraduate certificates covering subjects ranging from advertising and marketing communications to sports communication studies. He has been teaching public relations courses in the undergraduate and graduate studies programs for more than 25 years. Prior to being elected chair of the Department of Communications and Journalism, Ford  served as the director of graduate studies for the School of Communications.  

Outside of Webster, Ford is often a panelist for professional organizations and advises corporate and nonprofit clients. In his free time, he sings in a gospel quartet and is a member of several choral groups. 

Contact Information

Office phone   314-246-8632
Email or fordg@webster.edu  

Tim Ryan, chair, Department of Audio Aesthetics and Technology

Tim Ryan head shotTim Ryan is the chair of the Department of Audio Aesthetics and Technology. This includes the undergraduate majors of audio production and audio production with an emphasis in international audio production along with the minor audio production and the entrepreneurship for audio majors certificate.

Contact Information

Office phone   314-246-7958
E-mail or timothyryan80@webster.edu