The Webster University Film Series, St. Louis' cinematic alternative since 1979, is a nationally known and recognized year-round film exhibition program. The Midwest's premiere hosting venue for American and foreign features, documentaries, classic and experimental cinema, and national and international artists presenting their work, the Series represents a genuine cinematic alternative in the St. Louis community.

Webster University Film Series logo

Film Series Events

Additionally, the Webster University Film Series has become the location for many national tours of international cinema, often acting as the only such venue in Missouri. The Series is host to speakers and visiting artists who address the pertinent issues in films presented. In an effort to further integrate film with education, the Film Series provides workshops with artists and experts.

For more information call 314-246-7525.


Unless otherwise noted, admission is:

$8 for the general public
$7 for seniors, Webster alumni and students from other schools
$6 for Webster University staff and faculty
Free for Webster students with proper ID.

We offer general admission seating with payment of cash, check, or credit.

Note: Last-minute changes may occur.

Venue Info

The Winifred Moore Auditorium is the home of the Webster University Film Series. Originally used as a chapel, it now boasts the most comfortable theatre seats around. (Some of the original pews can be seen in the hallways of Webster Hall.) The auditorium seats 240.

In addition to film screenings, the auditorium hosts jazz and classical concerts, Opera Studio performances, lectures, town hall meetings, and other university events.

The Winifred Moore Auditorium is located at 470 E. Lockwood Ave.


Winifred Moore Auditorium (470 E. Lockwood, Webster Groves, MO 63119)

Taking Highway 44 East, exit left on Elm Ave. Make a right on East Lockwood Ave. Immediately after passing Plymouth Ave., there will be a parking lot entrance to your right (lot B).


About the Film Series

The Webster University Film Series began in 1979 as an offshoot of a student-run organization known as The Webster Film Society. Designed for the presentation of primarily non-commercial film made by artists working outside the mainstream, the series developed a following throughout the St. Louis Community.

Without the competition of home video or other “Art House” options, foreign films—which were rarely seen in the area—and the repertory screenings of classic cinema and independent film attracted an audience eager to face the great possibilities that reside beyond the standard definition of a movie—an endeavor by an artist whose purpose is not selling popcorn.

With retrospectives, special programs and regular weekly screenings in our year-round schedule, the series has grown into one of the Midwest's premiere venues for new and classic, American and international cinema. Over the past quarter century, the series has presented thousands of films and welcomed hundreds of artists, musicians and professionals working in contemporary cinema, many of whom are at the vanguard of the art form.

In recent years, the Webster University Film Series has hosted esteemed animators Bill Plympton and Emily Hubley, video artists Steina Vasulka, Sarah Jane Lapp and Jay Rosenblatt, documentarians D.A. Pennebaker, Chris Hegedus, Albert Maysles, Ken Burns, Steve James, and Ross McElwee. Other special guests of the series include American cinema icon John "the Pope of Trash" Waters, John Sayles, Crispin Glover, iconic actor John Goodman and indie rock band Yo La Tengo.

Other guests of the series have included Evan Adams, The Alloy Orchestra, Alan Berliner, Les Blank, Andrew Bujalski, Charles Burnett, John Canemaker, Jem Cohen, Zeinabu Davis, Thierry Frémaux, Bob Gale, James Gunn, George Hickenlooper, Al Hirshfeld, Faith Hubley, Brett Ingram, Chuck Jones, Stan Kann, Grace Lee, Anne Makepeace, Guy Maddin, Leonard Maltin, Tim Blake Nelson, The New Music Circle, David Redmond & Ashley Sabin, Randy Redroad, Lee Renaldo, Esther Robinson, Kathy Rose, Greta Schiller, Bruce Sinofsky, Ellen Spiro, Will Vinton, Morrie Warshawski, Debra Zimmerman, and many others. Visits from these artists, coupled with the showing of films have brought Webster Film Series audiences a rich diversity of experiences and and varied perspectives of cinema.


We would like to thank the following sponsors for generously providing financial and promotional support for the Film Series.

Missouri Arts Council logo

The Missouri Art Council is a nonprofit, tax-exempt, Missouri-based organization to fund art projects through grant programs. As public leader, partner and catalyst, MAC is dedicated to broadening the appreciation and availability of the arts in the state and fostering the diversity, vitality and excellence of Missouri's communities, economy and cultural heritage.